India beats Malaysia 4-3, win Asian Champions Trophy Hockey 2023

India won the Asian Champions Trophy Hockey for the fourth time on Saturday after outlasting Malaysia 4-3 in the championship match at the Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium in Chennai. The “Men in Blue” once again wore the Asian Champions Trophy crown to become the talk of the nation, and the nation once more felt the emotion that hockey manages to evoke.

India is now the most successful team in the competition after winning the Asian Champions Trophy a record four times.

On Saturday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi praised the Indian men’s hockey team for their outstanding victory in the Asian Championship saying the team displayed unwavering determination, tireless dedication, and rigorous training.

He posted on X, ” Congratulations to our Men’s Hockey Team on the spectacular victory in the Asian Championship! This is India’s 4th triumph and it showcases the tireless dedication, rigorous training, and unyielding determination of our players. Their extraordinary performance has ignited immense pride across the nation. Best wishes to our players for their future endeavours.”

Jugraj Singh scored in the opening period to give India a lead, but Kamal Abu Arzai for Malaysia tied the score at 1-1.

In the second quarter, Malaysia’s Razie Rahim and Aminudin Muhamad scored from a two penalty corners to make it 3-1.

Following this, India’s Harmanpreet Singh scored on a penalty kick to make it 2-3 in the third quarter, and Gurjant then scored to tie the score. Akashdeep scored a last-second winner to help India win the Asian Champions Trophy for a record-tying fourth time.